India vs Newzealand (first twenty20)

26 Feb

In the first twenty20 match against newzealand, india lost the toss and was put to bat first.India had a brisk start with sehwag hitting three sixer’s in the first over of the match and everyone thought that india would score heaps of runs in the first innings.

But things started to go worse as opener gautham gambhir soon fell but sehwag continued to score his runs in a flury and soon fell for 26 runs after that india started to dig it’s own burrow with yuvraj,dhoni,rohit sharma all of them returning to the pavillion soon.

India had little hope that it will even cross the 150 run mark.But suresh raina helped india reach a total of 162 his 61 runs.Yusuf pathan and harbhajan singh played little cameos along with suresh raina with a figthing total of 162 on the board indian’s came to the field with large amount of hope on ishanth and zaheer khan .

But even though they bowled brilliantly the kiwis played it sensible by tagging partnerships of 54, 50 and 60. Mccullum played till the end and made sure that the kiwis reach home. McCullum is the Man of the Match. He calls his innings ‘ugly’ and says he never really got used to the pace of the track. He says he was lucky Guptill, Taylor and Oram scored at a quick pace.

Score card:
India = 162 for 8 wickets in 20 overs
Gautam Gambhir b O’Brien – 6
Virendra Sehwag b O’Brien – 26
Suresh Raina not out – 61
Rohit Sharma c B Mc’lum b Butler- 7
Yuvraj Singh lbw b Vettori – 1
MS Dhoni b Butler – 2
Yusuf Pathan c Oram b N Mc’lum- 20
Irfan Pathan c N Mc’lum b Ryder – 12
Harbhajan Singh b Southee – 21

Tim Southee = 4-0-42-1 Ian O’Brien = 4-0-36-2
Ian Butler = 4-0-29-2 (1wd) Daniel Vettori = 4-0-29-1 (2wd)
Nathan McCullum = 2-0-27-1 Jesse Ryder = 2-0-7-1

New Zealand = 166 for 3 wickets in 18.5 overs
Jesse Ryder lbw b Ishant – 1
B McCullum not out – 56
Martin Guptill lbw b Harbhajan – 41
Ross Taylor b Zaheer – 31
Jacob Oram not out – 29*

Zaheer Khan = 4-0-20-1 (1wd) Ishant Sharma = 4-0-35-1 (3nb)
Irfan Pathan = 3-0-38-0 Harbhajan Singh = 4-0-19-1
Yusuf Pathan = 2.5-0-37-0 (1wd) Yuvraj Singh = 1-0-17-0 (1wd)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: